New name to join Centurions’ Hall of Fame

Leigh RL news
Leigh RL news
Share this article

A NEW name is to be inducted into the Leigh Centurions Hall of Fame.

Supporters are being asked to submit their vote by the Leigh Players Association ahead of the announcement on March 14.

When all the votes are collated after the closing date of February 17, the top five nominees with the most votes will then be put to the committee to decide which player will join the current legends of Leigh players and inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The club already has two Halls of Fame.

The first was put together by the club and consists of 13 players – these are all currently displayed in the Legends Bar. These players are: Jimmy Ledgard, Des Drummond, Gordon Lewis, Trevor Allan, Joe Darwell, Joe Walsh, John Woods, Alex Murphy, Stan Owen, Walt Tabern, Mick Martyn, Peter Smethurst and Charlie Pawsey.

There is also a Players Association Hall of Fame, which consists of: Tommy Sale, Peter Riley, Albert Cleworth, Derek Hurt, Albert Worrall, Bill Kindon, Bill Robinson, Walt Mooney, Paul Grimes, Kevin Ashcroft, Mick Stacey, Brian Fallon, Alf Wilkinson, Tommy Grainey, Tommy Martyn (Snr) Mick Collins, Steve Donlan, Brian Brooks, Mick Hogan and Peter Foster.

This is the Hall of Fame that the Players Association is looking to extend.

No doubt this will be a subject of great debate amongst supporters.

Rules: You can only vote once; With your vote, you must have at least one reason why you think your choice should be in the Hall of Fame.

Your vote can be sent in via email: or posted: FAO Jason Donohue Leigh CPA, Leigh Sports Village, Leigh Stadium, Sale Way, Leigh WN7 4JY.