Hundreds flock to Pennington Flash for race

editorial image

The weather was kind for the seventh running of the Leigh five miles trail race hosted by Leigh Harriers on Sunday.

The race which attracted over 200 hundred entries took the runners around Pennington Flash Country Park starting and finishing on the Harriers track.

The mens’ race was won by Ben Russell competing for Liverpool Harriers who broke the course record with a time of 25:43, while in the ladies race it was first and second place for Leigh team Louisa Thompson winning in 31:15 and Sarah Griffiths in second place 31:42. The senior mens team took the team prize, Neil Pendlebury in 3rd place 26:52, Phil Williams 4th 27:38 and David Smith in 13th place 29:08 giving the Harriers a convincing win over Bolton Harriers; the ladies team of Thompson, Griffiths and Castledine finished in second place just losing out to Burnden Road Runners.

In all 26 Leigh Harriers took part in the race – Scott Hughes 15th 29:41, Kristian Wade 33rd 31:53, Michael Johnson 47th 33:00, Darren Smith 58th 34:10, Jacob Briscoe 59th 34:11, Ben McLaughlin 63rd 34:28, Joseph Wane 86th 36:40, Josef Short 87th 36:40, Tim McCardle 40:19, Eileen Castledine 40:56, first O/60 lady, Emma More was 21st Lady in the race 41:10, Eve Williams 23rd lady 41:26, John Taylor was next in 43:20, Kevin Birchall 4th in the over 60 age group, Barb White 36th lady 45:16, Paul Jackson 45:58, Emma Bilsbury 40th lady 46:57, Angela Pike was 4th O/60 lady 49:00, Keely Hodgkinson 44th lady 49:03, Joanna Smith 49:03 and Dianne Denny 46th lady 52:42. The race was a huge success with prizes for everyone.

Before the race started there was a fun run for the younger members of the club; Coel Mellor winning the boys race and Olivia Galvin winning the girls race. There were trophies for the winners and medal for all competitors.

At the Mid-Lancs Medal Meeting at Blackpool on Saturday 12 year old Laura Hickey continued her good form of the last few weeks, winning the under 13 girls 100m in a personal best time of 13.60sec, a National Grade 1 time, and in the 200m she was 2nd in 28.60sec another pb and G2 time. Keely Hodgkinson continues her unbeaten record for the season when in the girls under 13 girls 1500m she won in a time of 4:56.60.

Melissa Evans won the under 17 ladies 200 mts 28.60sec and was third in the 300m 45.40sec. Karran Kanpur -Walton was 3rd in the under 13 boys High jump clearing 1.35m a new club record. Ben McLaughlin won silver medal in the under 13 boys 800 mts in a time of 2:28.10 with Kyle Jones also winning a silver medal in the 1500m. Connor Patterson also won silver in the 400m in a time of 64.40sec. Good performances came from Kristian Wade in the 800 mts 2:23.80, Karren Kanpur- Walton ran a good time in 100 and 200 mts 13.7 and 28.60sec respectively Josef Short won his heat of the 200 mts in 29.60sec and placed 6th in the 800m 2:34; Rebecca Woolley ran 13.60sec in 100m and 28.70sec for the 200m whilst Sanna Mclean ran 46.70sec in the 300 m and jumped 4.32m in the Long Jump; Leah Kinsella threw 16.85m in the under 13 discus, 3.41 long jump.