Awards snub for Rowley and Brierley

Leigh's Ryan Brierley. Photo: Paul McCarthy Photography
Leigh's Ryan Brierley. Photo: Paul McCarthy Photography
Share this article

LEIGH were snubbed at the Kingstone Press Championship Awards held in Manchester last night.

Paul Rowley was nominated for Coach of the Year while Ryan Brierley was in the running for Player of the Year.

But Bradford stand-off Lee Gaskell was named Kingstone Press Championship Player of the Year, pipping Brierley and Halifax’s Scott Murrell to the coveted award.

Under Rowley, Leigh finished six points in front of their rivals at the end of the regular season but he lost out to Halifax’s Richard Marshall as coach of the year.

Former Leigh player Marshall, who stepped down as England academy coach to take charge of Halifax, masterminded a nine-match winning run to secure a Qualifiers berth in his first season at The Shay. They had beaten Leigh just a day earlier in the Qualifiers becoming only the second Championship side to beat Leigh in 2015.

Rowley also missed out on the same award last year to Paul Cooke, the then Doncaster coach.

The Leigh Community Trust was named Foundation of the Year in recognition of the trust’s commitment to developing Rugby League in the Leigh area throughout 2015.

Featherstone prop Jordan Baldwinson was named young player of the year while Oldham dominated the League 1 awards, with Lewis Palfrey and Scott Naylor being named player and coach of the year respectively after helping the Roughyeds clinch the league leaders trophy.

The awards are selected by a poll of coaches in the Championship and League 1.