Race to be Leigh MP a five-way affair

A borough election count
A borough election count
Share this article

FIVE candidates will contest the Leigh constituency at next month’s general election.

Sitting Labour MP Andy Burnham will be challenged by Stephen Hall (Left Unity - Trade Unionists and Socialists), Les Leggett (UK Independence Party), Louisa Townson (Conservative) and Bill Winlow (Liberal Democrat).

Elsewhere in the borough, Wigan’s seat has seven hopefuls and Makerfield five.

In Wigan, Labour’s sitting MP Lisa Nandy will be challenged by Mark Bradley (UK Independence Party), Richard Clayton (Liberal Democrat), Caroline Kerswell (Conservative), Brian Parr (Independent), Will Patterson (Green) and Gareth Fairhurst (Wigan Independents).

In Makerfield, Labour’s incumbent Yvonne Fovargue faces competition from Andrew Collinson (UK Independence Party), Philip Mitchell (Green Party Stop Fracking Now), John Skipworth (Liberal Democrat) and Zehra Zaidi (Conservative).