Awards night for operatic society

Share this article

The Three Towns Operatic Society held their annual Awards Evening and Dinner at Leigh Cricket Club.following their successful production of ‘Die Fledermaus.’

Long service awards were presented to Colin Magenty for 50 years; Enid Magenty and Ken West 45 years; Margaret Hall 40 years; Christine Burns 30 years; Tony Meehan and Vivienne Hilton 25 years; David Bratt and Frank Walsh 20 years; Jim Burns and Bill Dutton 10 years.

The Three Towns ‘Orchestra Trophy’ award was presented to Marlene Oldfield for her portrayal of various roles within the chorus.

The ‘Bas Barker Best Newcomer Trophy’ was awarded to David Griffith. The prestigious ‘Chorus Trophy’ was this year awarded to the full chorus for their commitment, enthusiasm and dedication.

In recognition of an outstanding contribution to the life and work of the society, ‘The Margaret Dakin Memorial Award’ was presented to Bob Horrocks by Rod Dakin, Musical Director to the Society. Bob has been a society member for 39 years.

He has held the position of chairman and is the society secretary.