Awards for opera society members

Three Towns Operatic awards
Three Towns Operatic awards
Share this article

A LEIGH operatic company held its annual dinner and awards evening following its latest successful production.

The event at Leigh Cricket Club came after members of the Three Towns Operatic Society performed ‘The Sorcerer’ at St Joseph’s Hall in May.

Rupert Rees, chairman, presented the medals for years of commitment to the society: Mel Bailey and Sue Bradley (35 years); Celia Rynn,  Elsie Murphy, Catherine Kay and  Winnie Wilcock (30 years); Jean Richardson (25 years); Susan Shaw (15 years); Rob McGee, Fran Davies and Ian Williams (10 years); Megan Bunce Youth Award for three years membership.

The ‘Orchestra Trophy’ for an outstanding performance was presented to Rupert Rees.

Bryony Wilmington was awarded the ‘Bas Barker Best Newcomer Trophy’ and the prestigious ‘Chorus Trophy’ was awarded to David Bratt for his enthusiasm, dedication and services to the society.

The presentation of ‘The Margaret Dakin Memorial Award’ was made by Rod Dakin, her husband and Musical Director to the Society who donated the award to be presented in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the life and work of the society.

He presented the award to a very surprised Margaret Laithwaite describing her as “An invaluable member of the society with outstanding commitment.”

Margaret said: “Words cannot express how surprised and honoured I am to be presented with this award.”

The society is in rehearsal for its annual concert on Friday and Saturday November 18 and 19 at Lowton Civic Hall.